TCP/IP Stack

The four layers of the TCP/IP stack.

This is a list of the four layers of the TCP/IP stack.

The Application Layer

This layer includes network services and client software.

Transport Layer

This layer is responsible for getting data packets to and from the Application layer by using port numbers. TCP also verifies packet delivery by using acknowledgements.

The Internet Layer.

This layer uses IP adresses to route packets to the correct destination network.

The Network Layer

This layer represents the physical network pathway and the network interface card.